In Versions 1.6.6 and above, ServicePulse includes an additional screen to view and manage failed messages that have been requested to be retried but have not completed yet.
Pending retries messages can be found by going to the pending retries screen.
In ServicePulse v1.7.0 and above, the Pending Retries screen is hidden by default. To make it available in the ServicePulse UI, change the following value in
<path-to-ServicePulse-installation>\app\js\app.constants.js to true:
The Pending Retries Messages screen shows failed messages which have been retried, but the status of that retry is pending. The status of retried failures is updated when either the message is processed again as either an Audited message (success) or as a failed message.
Failed messages that are retried may stay in the pending state for the following reasons:
- The retrying endpoint is not working (e.g. crashed or is scaled-out) and the retried messages is waiting in the queue and has not yet been processed.
- The retrying endpoint does not have auditing enabled but has successfully processed the retried message.
The messages displayed in this screen can be filtered based on the time period by selecting one of the options, such as messages in the last 2 hours, messages in the previous day or week. The default option is set to display all of the pending messages.
Results can also be filtered by queue name using the search functionality:
The information about the message such as Failure timestamp, endpoint, stack trace of the error, etc., is displayed in the same manner as it on the Failed Messages page providing additional information as follows:
- Redirect Information if redirect is created for this queue.
To retry a pending retry message, select the failed message(s) in the list and click the "Retry Selected" button.
Alternately a queue can be selected and the "Retry All" option can be used to retry all the messages targeted for the queue.
Message retry will use message redirects if the original endpoint has been redirected in ServicePulse.
When the audit feature is disabled in the endpoint that processes the failed message, the entry will remain in the pending state indefinitely even after the message has been successfully reprocessed by that endpoint. In this scenario, use the
Mark as complete feature to manually mark the failed message as resolved. Once the message is marked as resolved, it will no longer appear in the pending retries message list.